And the @ACMawards New Artist of the Year Semi-Finalists Are…

There were chants of happiness and there were grumbles of dissatisfaction yesterday in the country music world. Which can only mean one thing…the Academy of Country Music announced the semi-finalists for the New Artist of the Year category.

For the first time in its 50-year history, the Academy of Country Music is partnering with CMT to give country fans the opportunity to vote for the ACM New Artist of the Year. That means the ball is in YOUR court. However, the eight gentlemen that qualified to be voted down to the top award were voted on by the ACM’s professional membership. Without further ado, the finalists are: Brett Eldredge, Tyler Farr, Sam Hunt, Kip Moore, Thomas Rhett, Chase Rice, Cole Swindell and Dan + Shay.

You might notice some familiar faces missing from this category including the talented miss Brandy Clark, who scared a big nod by The Grammys in the same category there, which isn’t settling well with some die hard fans. No use crying over something we can’t change, so now it’s on to voting….

Fan voting for the award begins at and on January 27th at 1:00 p.m ET and closes February 10th at 6:00 p.m. ET.  The final three nominees for New Artist of the Year will be determined by the first round fan vote, combined with the ACM professional membership vote. Those final nominees will be announced in the coming weeks and a final round of voting will then take place from April 8th to April 19th. This year’s fan-voting process marks a move to CMT from last year’s partnership with GAC.

Get it? Got it? Good. Now may the best man win.

Author: Country Cadre

Provide Country Music Chat, Views, News and Entertainment 24/7, inspire our community through motivation and laughter, and lead the way as a Social Media Community Pioneer helping fans connect with their favorite artists online.

Share This Post On

Submit a Comment